January 2022 Show Recap

Happy 2022! I am off and running to see shows early in the new year. Let’s recap the theatre I took in during January.

I literally started off 2022 with a night at the theatre, to see the national tour of Jersey Boys at Dallas Summer Musicals. Lots of familiar songs and a story I was not at all familiar with made for an entertaining show. Not a favorite for me, but definitely worth seeing and a great way to start off the year!

On January 9th I took myself to AT&T Performing Arts Center in Dallas to see the national tour of What the Constitution Means to Me. I’d previously watched the recorded live on Broadway version on Amazon Prime Video, so I knew what I was in for. The show was even more meaningful in person and I was really glad I made time to go see it during it’s short one-week stop in the metroplex.

The next week, I watched two live simulcast shows. First on January 10th was Jeanna de Waal’s show at Feinstein’s/54 Below, which has recently started offering live virtual tickets. It was like being in the room since it was all happening live. Then Clyde has been playing at the Helen Hayes theatre on Broadway this fall and was set to close January 16th. They decided to do the last two weeks of the play with live simulcast tickets, which allowed me to see a live Broadway play in my living room without paying for the expense of a trip to NYC. I bought my ticket for January 15th’s matinee and it was such a good show (I also bought a playbill from the show on ebay in advance of the viewing).

On January 21, we finally got to see the national tour of Hadestown as part of our Dallas Summer Musicals subscription at AT&T Performing Arts Center. It was so interesting to see the changes in staging for the touring production, and I loved the different interpretations this cast brought to the characters. Having now seen the Broadway company and the touring company, you really can’t go wrong with either. This is an absolutely MUST-SEE show!

And to finish out the month, we went as a family to see the Angelica Company of Hamilton at Bass Performance Hall in Fort Worth. We bought these tickets back in November 2019, and due to the pandemic, the tickets were rescheduled from June 19, 2020 to January 30, 2022. I was thrilled to see some actors in new-to-me roles this time – it’s honestly what I love about seeing this show over and over again.

That’s it for January – a pretty theatre-heavy start to the year! February will be much lighter, but I’ll be back next month to share how that happens.

One thought on “January 2022 Show Recap

Leave a comment